Power Play

I can’t help but feel that the Obama Administration is trying to stir up It’s own controversy by appointing a prosecutor to investigate possible abuses by the Bush administration. It’s debatable as to whether or not this is a bold move. On one hand, as people like Michelle Malkin so candidly calls a “hit job”. And, of course, Glen Greenwald sees the Obama Administration as not doing enough.

Honestly, I can’t say that I’m complaining that Attorney General Holder is appointing this prosecutor. The Bush Administration challenged a lot of existing laws and much of our constitutional framework; now, personally, I supported them on the grounds that they were in dangerous times (I feel a bit misguided now writing that), and that much of the existing legal framework needs to be updated. I’m not a lawyer, so It’s laughable for me to write substantive response to Greenwald’s well throughout and written posts. But, I will say that some of those memos the Administration wrote regarding treatment of prisoners and the Geneva convention rules were antiquated and not one-hundred percent suitable for judging modern day terror suspects.
Hooowever, if even half of what Jane Mayer’s The Dark Side is true than even the most hard hearted Conservative should still be shuttering. I think Conservatives need to let this play out, and be fair to the prosecutor. Of course, this won’t happen. And, to be honest, I’m not sure why I’m even writing this- as I don’t have anything important to say about it.
About bryanaens

I'm a recent college graduate. I studied English and journalism. I live in a nice suburb of Boston with my wonderful wife. I'm an avid reader and movie geek. I'm constantly on the lookout for new opportunities.
This entry was posted in Glen Greenwald, Jane Mayer, Michelle Malkin, Obama, Torture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

