Scott Brown: Giant Slayer

So, last night in Massachusetts we had a special election to replace Ted Kennedy’s seat. Our state elected its first Republican to the senate since 1972 (Edward Brooke). There is no other way to describe the win other than how the Boston Globe did: Big win for Brown- Republican trounces Coakley. Brown won 52% of the vote compared to Coakley’s 47% (the Libertarian candidate Joseph Kennedy received 1%). Here is the town-by-town breakdown.

The results are pretty stunning…Coakley only received strong support in the major urban areas of the state (Boston, Worcester, Springfield). Brown dominated most of the north and south shores. This isn’t surprising in the south shore which is known for being working-class; however, Brown carried much of the north shore (minus Gloucester). The north shore is known for being more upscale and liberal.
Naturally, Republicans are already gearing up to challenge more Democrats later this year.
In looking at the results, I’m more than pleased that a Republican could win in Massachusetts. Last fall I was taking a class called “Interpreting The Days News” where we were discussing the special election for this seat, and I laughed at the possibility of Brown winning. But, who could blame me? I’ve voted in four elections: 02, 04, 06, 08…In 02, Brian Baird handily won reelection (although, I’m told he is retiring this year); Bush won in 04, but that didn’t work out too well; 06, I didn’t bother voting in any of the Massachusetts races, incidentally, where Ted Kennedy handily defeated a Republican; in 08, well, there is no point in discussing that debacle. This was the first election where my vote actually mattered (and where the candidates were openly competing around me).
Last night on twitter Freddie was bemoaning how Republicans didn’t care about sick people. I think this is really unfair, but his point still carries some truth to it. What should Scott Brown do now as senator? In general, should the Republicans continue to block everything that the Democrats attempt to pass? I would say yes for Cap & Trade but no for health care. If the Republicans work with Obama to pass a much better (and hopefully simpler) bill then it would benefit everyone. The Republicans didn’t do enough when they were in power to address health care.
At this point, the Obama Administration needs to give on tort reform and cut back some of the spending. The Republicans need to yield that something needs to pass.
Anyway, just my thoughts…I want to second something that Michelle Malkin said: Scott Brown should give the Republican response to the State of the Union next Wednesday.
About bryanaens

I'm a recent college graduate. I studied English and journalism. I live in a nice suburb of Boston with my wonderful wife. I'm an avid reader and movie geek. I'm constantly on the lookout for new opportunities.
This entry was posted in Healthcare, Massachusetts, Scott Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

